Did you mean: 
    Go to solution
    Getting Started

Help with website migration and development site

I have the following:

• My own server at Godaddy
    • The content files for my website
    • I have a new Wordpress template

My site is currently hosted elsewhere. I cannot get access to the FTP, so they sent me the files. I need to keep the website live on the current server, whilst I build another in development state on my (Godaddy) server. Then I need to transfer the domain to my server, onto the new design. I am trying to keep the content the same, with exactly the same urls. I am a beginner, and Godaddy have let me down hugely because they said they would support me with this and halfway through the process with one of their advisors, a supervisor came on and stopped the process. I had just managed to upload all the content files onto the server, after the support guy helped me set up the server and open a new account on it etc. It WAS going well. I wouldn’t mind so much, but I was promised help in the very beginning when I was tricked into buying a dedicated server and a migration package, which they then informed me was impossible without the FTP access to the current host. At the time I purchased it, I informed them this would be an issue, but they said they would still help me anyway if I had to do it all manually. I’ve had nothing by lies and false hope, and now I’m left with all this stuff I don’t know what to do with!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@Fenwickwriter 

So when you are in the file manager you should hopefully see a file wp-config.php the the public_html folder - you should be able to select the file and select edit.

When you are in the editing mode you should see something that says DB_USER and DB_NAME

These along with DB_PASSWORD is what you need to update. Also I forgot to include you want to check DB_HOST and make sure it is set to localhost

I am a GoDaddy End User - Just Like You